Affected individuals will be prompted with the message, “If you don’t live with the owner of this account, you need your own account to keep watching”. Along with this message is a button that will direct the user to a registration page for a new Netflix account. Alternatively, the user can verify their identity during this prompt by submitting a verification code that is sent to the account’s corresponding email address or phone number. Neither Netflix nor The Streamable revealed what would happen if the user chooses to ignore the prompt or delay the verification request.
Prior to this, Netflix’s only measure of policing account sharing is by setting a limit to the number of devices per account that are allowed simultaneous access to its services. It is not known when the streaming service will fully implement this new restriction or if it plans to add other types of devices (i.e. PCs or smartphones) to the list.