Based on the screenshots provided, disappearing photos are designated by tapping the “1” icon below its preview before sending it to the receiver. Once sent, the image will appear as a blurred thumbnail, which users are required to tap in order to view it in full. After the receiver has opened the thumbnail, WhatsApp will then notify that the image will be deleted upon closing the viewer or chat.
WABetaInfo added that users are also restricted from forwarding these photos to another chat or exporting them outside of the private messaging platform. However, it also noted that WhatsApp does not feature any form of screenshot detection or prevention – a privacy flaw that is also present for its existing disappearing messages feature. Therefore, it is still possible that users may utilise screen capture in order to keep these temporary photos. Until certain preventive measures are implemented, it is advisable to not share anything highly confidential via this approach, or only send it to trusted individuals.
Post a Comment