Showing posts with label Disappearing. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Disappearing. Show all posts

Tuesday, October 5, 2021

WhatsApp Beta Rolls Out Default Disappearing Messages Update

A new feature is launching on WhatsApp beta that allows users to set all messages to disappear by default. The feature’s current iteration only allows users to turn on disappearing messages for individual chats and only gives the option of seven days.

This new rollout gives you more control over the privacy feature. For starters, there’s now a global timer for all chats, and that’s in addition to the ability to personalise the duration for individual threads. Instead of just seven days, WhatsApp is also adding options for 24 hours and 90 days.

The expanded message timer joins the View Once feature as part of the platform’s growing suite of privacy-focused tools. Be aware of course, that none of these measures prevent recipients from recording or taking a screenshot of the contents that you send and, unlike Snapchat, you have no way of knowing if they did.

The default disappearing messages is rolling out to iOS users on WhatsApp beta and WhatsApp Business beta. Unfortunately, Android beta users will have to be patient as the feature will only be released next week. With the latest beta, WhatsApp also unveiled larger and rounder chat bubbles.

Thursday, August 26, 2021

WhatsApp Officially Launches “View Once” Disappearing Feature

WhatsApp is finally rolling out its new “view once” feature to the general public in its latest update after being released a little over a month ago in the Android beta. The feature allows you to send photos and videos that can only be viewed once by the recipient, disappearing completely thereafter.

Similar to the disappearing messages in Snapchat and Instagram, it aims to give users more control over their privacy. Using it is simple: when sending pictures or videos to someone, click on the “1” button on the left of the send button. The recipient won’t see a preview of what you sent so they’ll have to click it to find out the content. Once they’re done viewing, you’ll see the message now says “opened” and they won’t be able to access it again. Of course, keep in mind that they can still take a screenshot and unlike Snapchat, you won’t be notified.


WhatsApp gave a use case example of sending somebody your WiFi password without having to worry about them sharing it with others, or maybe something like photos of new clothes you’re trying on at a store which you don’t need to take up your storage space. Seeing as how View Once messages are still end-to-end encrypted, maybe the feature would also be useful for espionage or just sending some “work-inappropriate” content.

The photos and videos sent through View Once can remain unopened for 14 days before they expire. Apparently, View Once messages can also be restored through backup if it was still unopened during backup. WhatsApp will also be able to see what you sent if the recipient reported your message for problematic content that breaks their terms of service. Obviously, you won’t be able to forward, save, star, or share View Once media.

Wednesday, March 3, 2021

WhatsApp Reportedly Working On New Disappearing Images Feature


As most of us are aware by now, the current version of WhatsApp allows users to post disappearing messages in chats, which is automatically deleted after seven days. According to a recent discovery by WABetaInfo (via Twitter), it appears that the Facebook-owned platform may be implementing that feature to image sharing as well.

The site says that the new disappearing images will function differently than its text-based counterpart. Reportedly taking cues from a similar feature on Instagram Direct, WhatsApp will immediately delete designated photos after the receiver has viewed it once. Due to their temporary nature, it’s also likely that disappearing images are not stored on the receiver’s device or in chat backups.

Based on the screenshots provided, disappearing photos are designated by tapping the “1” icon below its preview before sending it to the receiver. Once sent, the image will appear as a blurred thumbnail, which users are required to tap in order to view it in full. After the receiver has opened the thumbnail, WhatsApp will then notify that the image will be deleted upon closing the viewer or chat.

WABetaInfo added that users are also restricted from forwarding these photos to another chat or exporting them outside of the private messaging platform. However, it also noted that WhatsApp does not feature any form of screenshot detection or prevention – a privacy flaw that is also present for its existing disappearing messages feature. Therefore, it is still possible that users may utilise screen capture in order to keep these temporary photos. Until certain preventive measures are implemented, it is advisable to not share anything highly confidential via this approach, or only send it to trusted individuals.


It is not known when exactly WhatsApp is planning to implement this new disappearing images feature to its service. WABetaInfo vaguely suggests that it will arrive in a future update on both Android and iOS versions of the app, which could mean several weeks or months down the line.

Xiaomi Shows Off Physical Concept Of Vision Gran Turismo

At the very tail end of last month, Xiaomi unveiled the Vision Gran Turismo. The car was revealed as a digital hypercar, and one that’s made...